the opposite of love

image

the opposite of love is not hate, it’s indifference. the opposite of art is not ugliness, it’s indifference. the opposite of faith is not heresy, it’s indifference. and the opposite of life is not death, it’s indifference. – Elie Wiesel.

I stood in the rain looking down at the fallen and broken tree branches. I began to sing Solitude as Matt sang it on an EP some years ago. The song, written by Duke Ellington even further back, in 1934, is a jazz standard. Let Billie sing it to you and let it seep into your soul and you’ll realise how high standard can be.
Ground up some coffee and put the little Bialetti on the hot plate. Thoughts now moving on to the title The Invention of Solitude by Paul Auster. Maybe I’ve got too much time on my hands or not concentrating enough. Do you still want that coffee?

8 thoughts on “the opposite of love

    1. Ashley…the quote above was found when I wondered what the opposite of love is…I haven’t read Man or Wiesel…I confess that there is no great depth to my reading…something I should try to correct

      Like

      1. Usually when hate is not cited as the opposite of love, fear is. But I can understand the Wiesel quote – sit and do nothing and bad shit happens.
        Wiesel is very very depressing to read whereas Frankl is transcendant and uplifting. I’ve read heaps of stuff – it’s one of my great joys. I used to buy and sell books. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I like this Ax …I’ve been listening to John Coltrane play “Niama ” and “Equinox” …tomorrow I want to go to the library and search for Viktor Frankl and listen to Duke Ellingtons ” Solitude ” ….thank you for the inspiration , a double one from your comment on my post today ! Xxxmeg

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Niama is a beautiful little tune…I’ve been listening to Blues in Orbit by the Duke today and a pile of Blue Note albums I picked up at knock price…I was thinking of going out on a limb tomorrow since it’s Friday and doing some late John…Interstellar and Stellar Regions….who knows, I might open some wine and stay up late )))) enjoy Meg
    ax

    Like

Leave a Reply

